Minutes of Golf Section Committee Meeting

Held at Backworth Hall on the 14th June 2017

Matters Arising.

In 2018 a time limit for completion of each round will be applied to the 8 players competing in the Graham Willis Trophy


Emails were read out and discussed from the Ladies Captain, Trevor Torpy, Neil Gascoigne and James McCarthy.

The secretary had already responded to the Ladies Captain and the committee decided that no further action was warranted.

With regards to the emails from the Captain and Mr McCarthy these had been forwarded to the Welfare Manager for his attention.

Emails from Mr Torphy regarding his concerns that payment had not yet been made for the winner and second place in the winter nines competition. The committee agreed that a monetary award will be made on presentation night for 1st and 2nd place.

Secretary’s update

A new baffle net and structural padding has been installed on the practice net.

Past Captains photo’s have now been re-instated in the lounge.

A review of the annual rolling program for the course had been submitted to the JWP for their attention.

Treasurer’s Report

Current Account:        £7478

Golf Levies:                £4680  (8 new members since last meeting)

Competition Levies:    £2970 (3 comps postponed so far).

Thompson Cup & Tankards:   £182

Team meals for May:  £450.80  (£915.80 total to date)

Website renewal:         £258.91

Handicap Secretary’s Report.

3 competitions have been delayed due to inclement weather

Captain’s Report

There had been 5 league games since the last meeting. 2 home games had been won 7-5 however 2 away games had been lost 9-3 and in the final home game the team lost 12-0.

Senior Organisers Report

In the league matches Backworth had won 8-4 at home to Bedlington and had drawn 6-6 away to Blyth.

Any other Business

The treasurer proposed that the costs involved in the fitting out a container to house members trolley’s, estimated to be in the region of £1,200, be funded by the golf section. This was seconded by Mr McKeen and agreed by the majority of the committee.

The committee wish to congratulate Veronica Walker who has been appointed as President of the Ladies section and will take up here duties in November when the current President Wendy Logan stands down.

The treasurer confirmed that the £10 entry fee for an upcoming county Junior competition would be paid by committee.

Members will be reminded that all scores must be entered into the computer after the completion of a round even if they have a “no return” as failure to do so affects the competition scratch score.